Go to navigation

Medway Sports Awards

Medway Sports Awards logo 2016

Olympic gold medal winning hockey goalkeeper Maddie Hinch was crowned Medway Sportsperson of the Year at a star-studded Medway Sports Awards evening.

Two-time Olympic gymnastics champion Max Whitlock was the guest of honour at the awards ceremony, even treating inviting guests to some of his gold medal winning pommel horse routine.

Veteran race walker and 1964 Olympic silver medallist Paul Nihill was inducted in the Medway Hall of Fame while England and Maddie Hinch and Max WhitlockChelsea Ladies footballer Miri Taylor was named Junior Sportsperson of the Year.

The Medway Sports Awards are held every two years to recognise and celebrate the achievements of Medway's athletes, clubs, officials, volunteers, coaches and teaches. The awards were sponsored by University of Kent Sport and hosted by MidKent College.

It was a great night for Anchorians Sports Club - the hockey club won Club of the Year and the football club won Junior Club of the Year. Holcombe Hockey Club's Men's First XI took home the Team of the Year award while The Pilgrim School's Table Tennis Team won Junior Team of the Year.Max Whitlock and the Games Maker Choir

Medway Tri triathlon coach Dean Ratcliffe was named Coach of the Year while roller dance's Vic Pratt was the Official of the Year. Paul Nihill 1964 Olympic silver medallistVeteran korfball development officer Jackie Hubbard won the Unsung Hero award.

Delce Academy and Brompton Academy took home the trophies for Primary and Secondary School of the Year respectively.

Other special guests on Friday, 16 December included modern pentathletes Kate French and Mhairi Spence, 2014 Medway Sportsperson of the Year Charlotte Evans, previous Hall of Fame inductee Liz McVeigh and the Games Maker Choir.

Read about the gold, silver and bronze award winners category by category by following the links below.