Go to navigation

Coach of the Year

Kent Sport logoCoach of the Year - Sponsored by Kent Sport

Awarded to a coach who has demonstrated outstanding coaching skills, contributed to sporting opportunities from grassroots to excellence and reinforced the sporting values of respect and fair play.

It can be awarded just as easily to a coach who has guided a team through a campaign undefeated as it can to a coach whose enthusiasm and dedication did not waiver during a season when the team has perhaps only won one game.


Coach of the Year Dean RatcliffeGold - Dean Ratcliffe - Triathlon

Dean, head coach of Medway Tri, has led athletes to startling success in the 2016 season with 11 athletes qualifying to compete for GB at the European Championships in Portugal.  They brought home three silver medals in various age groups, and 10 athletes qualified to represent GB at the forthcoming World Championships in Cozumel, Mexico.  Dean also coaches and oversees the junior programme and has coached a number of newcomers to complete their first triathlon in 2016.


Silver - Mark Roughsedge – Rugby League

Since his appointment as head coach in 2014, Mark has completely transformed the culture of the England team, on and off the pitch. As a result the fortunes of England Wheelchair Rugby League have changed as well. The national team has won four international competitions during Mark’s reign. Within this period 10 players have pulled on the national jersey for the first time, three times more debutants than the previous three years combined.  


Bronze - Lou Saunders - Cheerleading

Coach Lou Saunders has formed a spirited, inclusive team which has developed from creation to National School Champions in just five years.  The team, which benefits from her determination and drive, surprises people and shakes them out of their stereotypes showing strong, fit, fabulous girls working as a team.  Lou’s inspiration has a huge impact on the confidence, self-esteem and achievements of the girls.